Navigation auf uzh.ch
If you had already set up a Microsoft account in self service and created OneNote notebooks there before the global introduction of Microsoft 365 at UZH, the Windows 10 OneNote app may no longer be able to synchronize.
The following steps show you how to reactivate the synchronization of your notebooks.
After having reactivated data synchronization, you'll have to move your data to your new UZH account or into a private Microsoft account (if you're talking private data). The former UZH accounts ("*@*.onmicrosoft.com", e.g. firstname.lastname@example.org) are going to be inactivated shortly.
This guide covers the simplified OneNote app that comes with Windows 10 (OneNote entry on the Start menu), not the more powerful OneNote 2016 application that comes with Microsoft or Microsoft 365 (OneNote 2016 entry on the Start menu).
In OneNote, an exclamation mark is displayed on your notebook's icon. You can still work with the notebook, but the changes are no longer synchronized to the network and other devices.
The cause of the problem is that with the UZH-wide rollout of Microsoft 365 accounts that were previously created in self service have been renamed. In some cases, the OneNote app has not realized this and therefore cannot log in to your Microsoft account. You received an email around 12 March 2020 informing you of the new name of the old account. It has the form "*@*.onmicrosoft.com" (example: email@example.com).
We recommend having a current backup of your OneNote data at hand to prevent data loss. Please note that restoring this data is only successful, if the OneNote App has not been updated in the mean time. To prevent data loss even in this case you need a backup of your complete system. You'll find details on how to do this on Microsofts website.
If you need to restore the data folder, please follow the steps on the page OneNote - Notebook Migration - Troubleshooting
Caution: To prevent data loss, please note:
With the new registration the synchronization works again. However, data entered during the synchronization interruption is missing and is only available locally. Copy them into the online version of the notebook according to the following procedure.